OriginalShay
1 min readApr 12, 2024

--

Today, I was going about my day, and the television was on in the background. I happened to hear a phrase that piqued my interest.

“Raison d’être” a phrase from the French origin meaning “reason for being” or “justification for existence”.

The phrase dates back to the 1860’s originally scribed in a letter by philosopher and economist John Stuart Mill.

Raison d’être encapsulates the force behind our core motivations and values. The phrase itself has a deep significance for an individual or groups intrinsic mission.

The term can be linked to philosophical discussion, linked closely with Aristotle’s Theory of Telos with Kants categorical imperative. Summarising the use of holistic approach in an individuals reason for being.

So today, I consider my mission, and I encourage readers to do so as well. Find your raison d’être and let it guide you.

Give some meaning to your everyday actions.

Sources: https://www.oed.com/dictionary/raison-detre_n?tl=true

https://grammarist.com/usage/raison-detre/

--

--

OriginalShay

Interested in many topics, but the content I write and publish I aim for it to be educational and informative. Please help me, help others learn.